Heating Assistance

Need help with heating costs? LIHEAP can help.

The Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP) helps eligible low-income households with home heating costs.

  • Heating assistance

  • Weatherization services (insulation, weather stripping, etc.)

  • Furnace and chimney cleaning

  • Furnace repair and replacement

  • Emergency assistance

Applications are accepted from October 1 through May 31 for each heating season.

For help filling out and submitting the LIHEAP application, call Community Options at 800.823.2417 Ext. 140.
Community Options


Department of Human Services (formerly known as Social Services)

The Human Service Zones' local offices have professionals on-site who can help people with the following sevices: Heating assistance and Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP/Food Stamps), Medicaid, including children's health services; basic care assistance; child care assistance; in-home and community-based services and supports for elderly and disabled individuals; personal care assistance; child welfare (foster care, child protection services, child care licensing and related services); and referrals to other local resources and programs. DHS Services and Help page.

Roughrider North Human Service Zones Serving Billings, Dunn, Golden Valley, Hettinger and Stark Counties

Billings/Golden Valley office 
67 1st Street SE
PO Box 279
Beach, ND 58621

Phone: 701-872-4121
Fax: 701-872-4121

Dunn County office
205 Owens Street
Manning, ND 58642

Phone: 701-573-5385
Fax: 701-573-5070

Stark County office
664 12th Street W
Dickinson, ND 58601

Phone: 701-456-7675
Fax: 701-456-7777

Hettinger County office
309 Millionaire Ave.
Mott, ND 58646

Phone: 701-824-3276
Fax: 701-824-2820

Dakota Central Human Service Zones Serving McLean, Mercer, Oliver and Sheridan Counties

McLean County office
712 5th Ave.
PO Box 70
Washburn, ND 58577

Phone: 701-462-3581
Fax: 701-462-3590

Mercer County office
PO Box 70
Washburn, ND 58577

Phone: 701-462-3581
Fax: 701-462-3590

Oliver County office
PO Box 70
Washburn, ND 58577

Phone: 701-462-3581
Fax: 701-462-3590

Community Action

Each of the seven Community Action Agencies across North Dakota offer a wide variety of programs to serve those in need including, but not limited to: Budgeting and Money Management, Child Care, Commodities, Emergency Assistance, Energy Assistance, Food Pantry, Head Start, Housing, Self-Sufficiency, Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA), and Weatherization. All programs serve low- and moderate-income individuals and families, senior citizens, and others in crisis situations.

Each agency offers unique programming based on the needs in their community; please inquire with the Community Action Agency in your area to see what programs are offered. Eligibility for most programs is based on either federal or state income guidelines. These guidelines vary from program to program and intake forms are used to determine client eligibility.

Rental and mortgage assistance may be available for those who are up to 200% of the Federal Poverty Guidelines. Verification of sources of income and expenses is required to determine eligibility.  Any potential applicant must call their local Community Action Agency and inquire. Please note, although our offices are currently closed physically closed to the public, each agency is able to work with applicants via phone and e-communications. Call your local agency today if you need assistance!

Community Action Offices

Community Action Partnership - Dickinson Region

202 E Villard
Dickinson, ND 58601

Community Action Partnership - Dickinson Region serves the following counties: Adams, Billings, Bowman, Dunn, Golden Valley, Hettinger, Slope, and Stark.

Community Action Partnership - Bismarck Region

2105 Lee Avenue
Bismarck, ND 58504

Community Action Program Region VII serves the following counties: Burleigh, Emmons, Grant, Kidder, McLean, Mercer, Morton, Oliver, Sheridan, and Sioux.